Make Canoe my Homepage

When the “hell” are my shows on? The full list of fall 2012 TV debuts

- September 8th, 2012

Rachael Taylor in 666 Park Ave

“Where’s the TV?” asks Rachael Taylor in 666 Park Avenue (pictured above). “And when the ‘hell’ do my favourite shows debut?”

That’s kind of a specific 666 Park Avenue joke. But Rachael is not alone.

For the past several years we’ve put together a chronological list of fall TV debut dates for publication. The feedback we get indicates that readers/viewers like the simplicity of presenting it in this form. Easy to read, easy to follow.

However, every year we offer the same disclaimer: Things change. Networks reconsider and react to their own failures and successes.

So in terms of both the American and Canadian TV scheduling landscapes (and the meshing of the two, which can get quite complicated), the following list is the most accurate we can put together at the present time. As always, as it gets closer to the debut dates for your favourite shows, please double-check local listings.

Sunday, Sept. 9

Wallander (most PBS affiliates; later in September on others)

CCMA Awards (CBC)

The Inbetweeners (MuchMusic)

Monday, Sept. 10

The Voice (NBC, CTV Two)

The New Normal (NBC, CTV)

Katie (Citytv)

The Jeff Probst Show (Global)

Ricki Lake (Global)

Men at Work (Comedy)

Sullivan and Son (Comedy)

Shannen Says (E!)

Hoarders (A&E)

Tuesday, Sept. 11

Guys With Kids (Global, the next night on NBC)

Parenthood (NBC, Global)

Go On (time-period premiere, already sneak-peaked, NBC, Global)

Sons of Anarchy (Super Channel)

Wednesday, Sept. 12

The X Factor (Fox, CTV)

Thursday, Sept. 13

Glee (Fox, Global)

Tia and Tamera (E!)

Friday, Sept. 14

The Fifth Estate (CBC)

Marketplace (CBC)

Shark Tank (ABC, CTV Two)

What Would You Do? (ABC)

20/20 (ABC)

Saturday, Sept. 15

Saturday Night Live (NBC, Global)

Sunday, Sept. 16

Boardwalk Empire (HBO Canada)

Heartland (CBC)

Over the Rainbow (CBC)

The Mob Doctor (CTV, the next night on Fox)

Monday, Sept. 17

Revolution (NBC, Citytv)

Bones (Fox, Global)

Who Do You Think You Are? (CBC)

Tuesday, Sept. 18

Rick Mercer Report (CBC)

Anger Management (time-period premiere, already sneak-peaked, CTV)

Wednesday, Sept. 19

Survivor (CBS, Global)

Titanic: Blood and Steel (CBC)

Dragons’ Den (CBC)

Thursday, Sept. 20

Flashpoint (CTV)

Parks and Recreation (NBC, Citytv)

The Office (NBC)

Up All Night (NBC)

The Nature of Things (CBC)

Doc Zone (CBC)

Saturday, Sept. 22

W5 (CTV)

Sunday, Sept. 23

Emmy Awards (ABC, CTV)

Treme (HBO Canada)

Call Me Fitz (HBO Canada)

Monday, Sept. 24

Dancing With the Stars (ABC, CTV)

2 Broke Girls (CBS, Citytv)

Mike and Molly (CBS)

Partners (CBS, Citytv)

How I Met Your Mother (CBS, Citytv)

Hawaii Five-0 (CBS, Global)

Tuesday, Sept. 25

New Girl (Fox, Citytv)

The Mindy Project (Fox, Citytv)

Ben and Kate (Fox, Citytv)

NCIS (CBS, Global)

NCIS: LA (CBS, Global)

Vegas (CBS, Global)

Private Practice (ABC, Citytv)

Criminal Minds (CTV, the next night on CBS)

Wednesday, Sept. 26

Modern Family (ABC, Citytv)

The Middle (ABC, Citytv)

The Neighbors (ABC)

CSI (CBS, CTV)

Law and Order: SVU (NBC, CTV Two)

Animal Practice (time-period premiere, already sneak-peaked, NBC)

Thursday, Sept. 27

Elementary (CBS, Global)

Person of Interest (CBS, Citytv)

Two and a Half Men (CBS, CTV)

The Big Bang Theory (CBS, CTV)

Last Resort (ABC, Global)

Grey’s Anatomy (ABC, CTV)

Scandal (ABC, Citytv)

Friday, Sept. 28

Haven (Showcase)

Kitchen Nightmares (Fox, Global)

Fringe (Fox, Citytv)

CSI: NY (CBS, CTV)

Made in Jersey (CBS, Global)

Blue Bloods (CBS, CTV)

Sunday, Sept. 30

Dexter (TMN, MC)

Once Upon a Time (ABC, CTV)

Revenge (ABC, Citytv)

666 Park Ave. (ABC, Citytv)

The Amazing Race (CBS, CTV)

The Good Wife (CBS, Global)

The Mentalist (CBS, CTV)

Homeland (Super Channel)

The Simpsons (Fox, Global)

Bob’s Burgers (Fox, Global)

Family Guy (Fox, Global)

American Dad (Fox, Global)

Call The Midwife (PBS)

60 Minutes (CBS)

Tuesday, Oct. 2

Raising Hope (Fox, Citytv)

Hart of Dixie (CW)

Wednesday, Oct. 3

The Bachelor Canada (Citytv)

Supernatural (CW)

Thursday, Oct. 4

30 Rock (NBC, Citytv)

Covert Affairs (Showcase)

Jersey Shore (MTV)

Sunday, Oct. 7

The Cleveland Show (Fox, Global)

Monday, Oct. 8

Gossip Girl (CW)

90210 (CW)

White Collar (Bravo)

Wednesday, Oct. 10

Arrow (CW, CTV Two)

Nashville (ABC, CTV Two)

Chicago Fire (NBC, Global)

Duck Dynasty (A&E)

Thursday, Oct. 11

The Vampire Diaries (CW, CTV Two)

Beauty and the Beast (CW, Showcase)

Covert Affairs (Showcase)

Sunday, Oct. 14

The Walking Dead (AMC)

Monday, Oct. 15

Match Game (Comedy)

Tuesday, Oct. 16

Emily Owens, M.D. (CW, CTV Two)

Holmes Makes it Right (HGTV)

Underemployed (MTV)

The Big Decision (CBC)

Wednesday, Oct. 17

Suburgatory (ABC, Citytv)

American Horror Story (FX Canada)

Friday, Oct. 19

Whitney (NBC)

Community (NBC, Citytv)

Nikita (CW, CTV Two)

Hunted (HBO Canada)

Sunday, Oct. 21

Happy Endings (Citytv, two days later on ABC)

Monday, Oct. 22

Don’t Trust the B in Apartment 23 (Citytv, one day later on ABC)

Friday, Oct. 26

Touch (Fox, Global)

Friday, Nov. 2

Last Man Standing (ABC, Citytv)

Malibu Country (ABC)

bill.harris@sunmedia.ca

@billharris_tv

 

Subscribe to the post

Leave a comment

 characters available