Make Canoe my Homepage

Kansas City ball boy royally screws up, unknowingly fields fair ball

- June 9th, 2014

Oh, Kansas City Royals ball boy, we feel for you.

In the fourth inning of Sunday’s Royals-Yankees game at Kauffman Stadium, a teenage-looking ballpark employee endured a ball boy’s worst nightmare.

The young chap interfered with the play, a big no-no:

Really, the kid did everything right — retrieved the ball cleanly, found a little boy in the stands, tossed the ball to him — aside from misjudging which side of the white line the ball was.

The YES commentator knew immediately what had happened, almost yelling “And the ball boy touches the ball! And he should not have!” as the incident unfolded on live TV.

The poor ball boy’s eyes widened as the realization of his screw-up grew. He sat on his stool, looking stone-faced.

The Brian Roberts hit, destined to be a single, was ruled a ground-rule double thanks to the gaffe.

In the fifth, when the ball was actually in foul territory, the ball boy’s lack of confidence was evident as he didn’t even get up from his chair. Nope, no redemption story here.

The broadcast suggested the ball boy was probably a “little gun shy” the second time around, which is fair, but can you blame him?

Subscribe to the post

6 comments

  1. JD | June 9, 2014 at 4:45 pm

    Poor kid. Mistakes are painful but they do happen.

  2. judie | June 9, 2014 at 6:06 pm

    So lets embarrass this poor kid until he becomes depressed-idiots reporting on such things.Shame on you!

  3. Ron | June 9, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    How many baseball players, umpires and announcers have made mistakes when doing their job?
    Just a thought. He will get over it…….we all do.

  4. Mrs J | June 9, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    that is bullying. Do you really think that by broadcasting this mistake that he wont be teased by people. Sad….

  5. Will | June 10, 2014 at 10:02 pm

    Whoa, he’s just a kid, can’t we all just dial this back a bit please? Besides, it isn’t as if the mistake changed the course of the game, is it? As John didn’t mention that it did, I’m guessing that it didn’t.

    At worst, he should get a refresher on paying better attention to the foul line, but that really ought to be the end of it.

  6. Will | June 10, 2014 at 10:05 pm

    Oh, I almost forgot – “royally screws up” – good one! :-)

Leave a comment

 characters available