Make Canoe my Homepage

Eminem, Skrillex, Kings of Leon to headline Lollapalooza: report

- March 20th, 2014

For those anxiously awaiting the official announcement of the Lollapalooza lineup in Chicago next week, it seems the cat is out of the bag — at least for the big acts.

The headliners will include Eminem, Skrillex, Kings of Leon and Arctic Monkeys, according to the Chicago Tribune, citing industry sources.

The marquee artists are familiar with the festival — they’ve all played it before. Eminem headlined in 2011, Kings of Leon did the same in 2009, while Skrillex and Arctic Monkeys have been in the middle of the pack in previous years, and this time around marks the first time they’ve had the big spotlight.


Lollapalooza, which marks its 10th edition this year, takes place at Grant Park on Aug. 1- 3. Tickets go on sale next Tuesday.

Last year’s lineup, which included Nine Inch Nails, the Cure, the Killers and Mumford & Sons, attracted a capacity crowd of 300,000 fans.

Eminem, Rihanna reveal dates for The Monster Tour

- March 19th, 2014

It’s not exactly a monster tour as far as dates are concerned, but Eminem and Rihanna have announced the details of their three-city jaunt across the U.S.

The co-headlining Monster Tour will make stops at Los Angeles’ Rose Bowl on August 7, E. Rutherford, N.J.’s MetLife Stadium on August 16, and Detroit’s Comerica Park on August 22. No other further dates, including any Canadian cities, have been scheduled. Tickets for all the shows go on sale Friday, March 28 at 10 a.m. local time through the Live Nation mobile app and Live Nation’s website.


There is also a Facebook presale that fans can take advantage of through an RSVP, which starts on Saturday, March 22 at 10 a.m.

Eminem recently wrapped up a Australian and South African tour, while Rihanna has been seen hanging out with Toronto rapper Drake at some of his European shows.

U2 delay album, tour until 2015: report

- March 7th, 2014

The long-gestating new U2 album has just been – you guessed it – pushed back again.

The band had originally had it scheduled for release last fall, then it was delayed until next month, and now comes word that it won’t be out until 2015, so they can schedule new recording sessions with producers Ryan Tedder and Paul Epworth, says Billboard. Danger Mouse is still on board as the central producer, according to the report.

“It seems to be taking longer for them to finish an album as they get older, but the great thing about U2 is that the whole of a record is always better than the sum of its parts,” a source close to the project told Billboard. “That magic that the band always seems to capture… they have yet to capture it.”


The report also indicated that a world tour, which was set to begin this September, will now kick off in summer 2015.

Frontman Bono hinted at yet another delay last month, while chatting with BBC’s Zane Lowe: “Until it’s on the radio or online, it’s not real,” he said emphatically. “With U2, our album isn’t finished until it’s in the stores. It’s tricky getting us four boys across the line.”

The delay could possibly have to do with the rather lukewarm response to the new music they’ve put out in the last few months. They released the track, Ordinary Love, for the the movie Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, and the charitable release, Invisible, which was given a big launch during the Super Bowl. Both tunes have failed to even come close to the top of the charts.

Coldplay’s new album ‘Ghost Stories’ dropping in May

- March 3rd, 2014

Things are starting to heat up in the Coldplay camp, and it could get pretty scary in a few months.

Just days after dropping a new song Beyonce style (out of the blue, that is), the Chris Martin-fronted band have just unveiled the title, a new single, and tracklist for their upcoming sixth studio effort.

The album, titled Ghost Stories, features nine tracks (one short of being in EP territory), and is set for release on May 19. The new single, Magic, is available right now as a free download when you pre-order the disc from iTunes.

Or, better yet, just listen to it below:

Coldplay fans may be breathing a sigh of relief with the tune — it’s a lot more upbeat and colourful than what we heard last week. The dark, mysterious first listen, Midnight, has been met with some rather unfavourable reviews so far. Slate wrote that it “sounds like a bad parody of Bon Iver,” with Martin coming across as “rarely intelligible as he sings into his vocoder.” Rolling Stone took a jab as well, calling some of the lyrics “incoherent.”


You can be the judge — listen below:

Meanwhile, here’s the full Ghost Stories tracklisting is as follows:

1. Always In My Head
2. Magic
3. Ink
4. True Love
5. Midnight
6. Another’s Arms
7. Oceans
8. A Sky Full Of Stars
9. O

The British band’s last album, Mylo Xyloto, was released in 2011.

Coldplay debut new single ‘Midnight’

- February 25th, 2014

With little fanfare, Coldplay have released a new single, Midnight.

The song was announced on Facebook and Twitter: “Something new at 0:00 in Ulaanbaatar #midnight.” Ulan Bator is the capital city of Mongolia, so midnight their time was 11 a.m. EST.

The keyboard-laden Radiohead-esque sounds are matched by X-ray visuals that show the British band in a black and white forest setting, with frontman Chris Martin dancing around in a trance. “Leave the light on,” his repeats through processed vocals that dissipate into a blur of synths.

Coldplay have not released info about an upcoming album or tour, but they are scheduled to play South by Southwest next month. The quartet’s last album, Mylo Xyloto, was released in 2011.

Midnight sounds a bit dark, but that’s in keeping with the band’s game plan. “Ultimately our records are neither optimistic nor pessimistic, they’re realistic,” bassist Guy Berryman told me in a 2005 interview. I’d say from the sounds of it, that about sums up the new track.